4 months and still breastfeeding

November 25, 2009 at 12:38 am Leave a comment

Spencer will be 4 months old on Friday and we are still breastfeeding.  It hasn’t been easy, but I am so happy we are still going strong.  I am still supplementing with formula, but with an average weight gain of 3 ounces per week. I am reluctant to stop.  I am still pumping about 5 ounces per day which is not quite enough so I have been freezing what I’ve been pumping.  Also, for some reason when I get stressed about output volume, it gets even lower.

I have a tiny stash in the freezer now.  That will help alleviate some of my concerns when I go back to work part-time in a few weeks.  I currently give Spencer three 2 ounce bottles per day.  I think I will start making one of the bottles pumped milk and then freeze whatever else is left from that day.  I am not sure how supplementing will work when am not breastfeeding full-time.  I will have to ask my lactation consultant.

I have delayed my return to work primarily because of my supply issues, but I need to get back.  I am very lucky in that they are letting me return with only 10-15 hours per week on site and the remainder at home.  If I can prove it works, I hope to maintain that schedule for a long time.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Thinking of Switching I Am Thankful For So Many Things

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Twitastic!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

Have something to ask?

Email me: babybabylemon@gmail.com

